Flying shoes at Bush news conference

It happened so suddenly that you couldn’t believe your own eyes. Television viewers the world over watched US  President George W Bush duck his head to dodge a throw of shoes from a TV reporter in Baghdad. It happened at a joint-news conference he addressed with Iraq Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki during President Bush’s farewell visit to Iraq.

100_04714Live TV footage, I watched it on BBC, captured the flight of the shoe  as it zipped past the VIPs at the podium. I was struck by the president’s presence of mind in dodging a flying shoe, twice in quick succession.  I wish I had the presence of mind to reach for my amateur camera when I saw the visuals the first time.   I waited for  a re-relecast an hour later to get these  images. 

 100_04721The missle-launcher,  identified as an Iraqi TV reporter  Muntadar-al-Zeida,  used both his shoes to have his say.  They were size 10.  And,  as Mr Bush put it,  “the guy wanted to get on TV and he did”

100_0479 He appeared calm and collected,   Mr Bush I mean.  In an interview with ABC news channel the president described the incident as,  perhaps,  the weirdest of things he had witnessed during his presidency. As  Mr Bush put it ,  “I’ve seen a lot of weird things during my presidency and this may rank up there as one of the weirdest….I thought it was unusual to have a guy throw his show at you. But I’m not insulted…I don’t think the Iraqi press corps as a whole is terrible.  And so,  the guy wanted to get on TV and he did.  I don’t know what his beef is”.

 NYT:  President Dodges Iraqi Journalist’s Shoes

4 Responses

  1. Bush sure has a sense of humor too. He reportedly remarked “All I can report is it is a size 10”.
    Here’s a link to the video of the same.
    http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=s30LQZ4r2DM

  2. I was reminded of how a soldier of Sri Lanka attacked Rajiv Gandhi.

    I can’t understand why these political leaders interfere in other countries in the name of doing good.

  3. how many of you remember pictures of that star hotel in baghdad ( before the second war) where hussein had a mosaic of Father bush at the entrance so that all who walked in trampled on his face? In the arab world the shoe can mean a lot. I wonder if Jr Bush got the significance..

  4. It was a disgusting act of cowerdice by the Iraqi reporter. Reporters are admitted to these meeting to report the news as it happens and not make news. Lack of outrage by the news gathering and reporting community has brought shame on the entire profession of journalism.

Leave a Reply

