My friend ‘Speedy’

S P Dutt (Speedy, to friends) and I have been friends since college days in late 1950’s.  We aren’t touch in the routine way, in the sense. We don’t e-mail each other. I don’t have his phone number. And yet I hear from him every other day, even though I don’t respond to him.

Speedy has this delightful knack of staying in touch with friends – his e-mail contacts –  by sharing with them links to a media story or magazine article that he finds interesting or useful enough to be shared.

I don’t read everything he sends me. And Speedy, presumably, doesn’t care what his e-mail recipients do with the media links he religiously sends to  e-mail contacts every other day. Some of his forwards are fascinating ‘finds’ I wouldn’t have accessed, had it not been for Speedy’s. I suppose he is aware of this. Which is why he keeps sending us his links, without expecting so much as a ‘thank-you’ mail from blokes like me.

The latest link I got, along with 14 other Speedy’s e-mail contacts,  relates to NYT book review of Nikita Lalwani’s novel, The Village.  The story relates to a film crew that goes to film the life and living in a unique Indian village. What is unique about the place is that this village is peopled by convicts who live there with their families.

I was surprised to learn about the place, of which I had not heard till now.The Uk-based author, Ms Lalwani, says she had visited about a decade back this Indian village modelled on a open-prison.  The convicts are allowed to seek work outside the village; and, according to the author, the village hasn’t reported any incident of escape in the last five decades.

One Response

  1. It was nice to read about SPD. Speedy and I were in Hindu College around the same time along with a common friend Harish Mathur. It was the other day my sister who is also from Hindu College same time mentioned to me that Barkha is the daughter of my old friend Speedy.
    I did try to look him up once on a visit to New York when he then there with AirI India. I have been working with a few organizations in Jakarta! Singapore, Kuala Limpur and Nigeria before returning to settle
    down in Trivandrum recently. Would you kindly forwraed is mail to Speedy. My email I’d is asivaram37@gmail.com.

    Thanks and best regards
    Anand Sivaram

Leave a Reply

